Project Team

The management structure of the project consists out of:

The Provincial Political Steering Committee: a Provincial Cabinet Committee which acts as the main decision-making body for this project and includes the MECs for Finance and Economic Affairs (chairperson), for Public Transport, Roads and Works and for Local Government. It also includes the Special Advisors to the MEC and certain senior officials, including the project leader.

The Gautrain Project Team is chaired by the previous Head of Department of the  Gauteng Department of Public Transport, Roads and Works Chief Executive, Mr Jack vd Merwe.  Mr vd Merwe is currently the Head of the Provincial PPP unit and CEO of the Gautrain Management Agency.  The Project team further consists of senior officials from the Gauteng Department of Roads and Transport and Department of Finance and Economic Affairs; a representative of The Passenger Rail Agency of South Africa and also of technical, financial, legal, socio-economic development and communication consultants.

The Project Review Committee which, apart from the members of the above Project Team, includes technical representatives of the Metropolitan municipalities, the National Department of Transport, National Department of Finance, the Provincial Departments of Development Planning and Local Government, Agriculture and Rural Development and the Department of Housing.

© 2017 Gautrain. All Rights Reserved.