Posted on Feb 17, 2012 in Media Releases

Gauteng MEC for Roads and Transport, Ismail Vadi, today announced the appointment for three years of the new Board for the Gautrain Management Agency (GMA). The seven new members of the GMA Board are:

  • Ms Amanda Nair
  • Mr Abel Mawela
  • Mr Donovan Nadison
  • Mr Mogopodi Mokoena
  • Ms Doris Dondur
  • Ms Motseaoa Alix-Mary Lugemwa
  • Prof Wellington Thwala

Vadi designated Nair and Mawela as the chairperson and deputy chairperson respectively of the GMA Board.
The new Board members are appointed in terms of the Gautrain Management Agency Act (No 5 of 2006), and is responsible for managing the business and affairs of the entity.

It must exercise the fiduciary duties and responsibilities of an accounting authority in accordance with the Public Finance Management Act in respect of the GMA and function in a transparent and open manner.

Vadi said that the new Board members are appointed by virtue of their knowledge of or experience in financial and risk management; rail issues; transportation planning; socio-economic development, BBBEE and transformation; legal and compliance skills; and human resource issues.

Vadi thanked the outgoing Board members for their dedication and commitment during their time in office.

© 2017 Gautrain. All Rights Reserved.